Hold your nerves, Be prepared for the most thrilling encounters as top eight cricketing sides will come head to head this summer in ICC champions trophy 2017. The much awaited tournament will commence from 1st of June with inaugural match between host English side taking on Bengal tigers. England with one of the most balanced sides of tournament, will enjoy the familiar conditions and will cheer up by home crowd. Bangladesh returned to the tournament first time after 2006 replacing West Indies. Unlucky Caribbean side finished outside the top eight in ninth position in ICC ODI rankings, on the cut-off date losing their place in Champions trophy for the first time.

Teams are distributed into two groups as follows:

Group A

  1. Australia
  2. Bangladesh
  3. England
  4. New Zealand

Group B

  1. India
  2. Pakistan
  3. South Africa
  4. Sri Lanka

Group B has attained remarkable significance due to the presence of arch-rivals, no other than India and Pakistan.The India-Pakistan cricket rivalry is one of the most intense sports rivalries in the world. An India-Pakistan cricket match has been estimated to attract up to one billion viewers, according to TV rating firms and various other reports. Both sides will face each other on their opening match on 4th of June. India being defending champions , surely enjoys the psychological edge over all other teams. Under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, the team consists of great combination of experience and young blood in squad, is highly capable to defend the title. Team Pakistan led by young skipper Sarfaraz, is indeed one the most unpredictable side of cricketing world. With true passion and commitment this side can produce some of the most surprising results of the tournament. Being at the lowest rank among all eight teams, Only option left for team Pakistan is to mount up towards the glory. “We’are ranked eighth, have nothing to lose” said the skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed while press conferencing after arriving England.

Former Pakistani all rounder Shahid Afridi nominated as country’s brand ambassador for the event.

South Africa is one of the most favorite teams to pick the title. Led by legendary AB De Velliers followed by top-notch international cricketers including Hashim Amla, Quinton De Kock, Du plessis , Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel , David Miller and Chris Morris. Despite of the fact that Sri Lankan national side is on their way of rebuilding, The team contains some of the names who can fetch victory from opponents on last moments. Team Sri Lanka will rely on skipper Angelo Methews, Dinesh Chandimal , Lasith Malinga and Thisara Parera.

Moving to group A,  the group has Ashes Rivals. With many favorable aspects, England is indeed one of the favorite side to lift the trophy. Aussies are suffering from intense financial issues with their governing body Cricket Australia which may effect their performance psychologically. According former Australian Batsman Darren Lehmann “Australia’s focus not on Champions Trophy due to pay issues”. But the side famous for their high standards of professionalism will not leave any stone unturned in ground to achieve the victory. Team New Zealand under the captaincy of Kane Willaimson is another hot favorite side for the tournament. Some of the important weapons of the side other than skipper includes Correy Anderson, Martin Guptill, Ross taylor and Tim Southee. The puny Bangladesh side amazingly progressed in recent past. The abilities and talent of this young side can’t be underestimated. “On our day, we can do anything,” captain Mashrafe Murtaza show the spirit during press conference.

Soon after the Manchester Attack last week, some of the cricket boards raised their concerns over Players’ and officials’ security. The matter will be addressed after ICC reviewed and assure the security arrangements for visitors in collaboration with relevant authorities. Nevertheless, The event promises the entertaining 19 days for cricketing fans around the world.





Comments Below